Laundry · Speed Queen

Speed Queen Washers Built to Last

Follow the link to read Consumer Reports review of the Speed Queen brand:

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/washingmachines/speed-queen-washers-built-to-last

We were more impressed with what actual consumers posted in the comments section of the review.  Look at what real people who own a Speed Queen have to say:

Katherine Weigel

We went to buy a new washing machine; dreading the thought of getting one of the agitator-less machines. We had read so many bad reviews. But to our delight, our local store had a model just like the one that had served us so well!! The Speed Queen! We LOVE the top loader. It ALWAYS cleans all our clothes. And, there wasn’t the need to learn how all the controls worked. It is just like our old machine!

Like · Reply · 17 · Sep 18, 2015 12:43pm

William Sevier ·

Emmett High School

Don’t know who did the reviews above, but these washers are pretty dang quiet. You do have to level them properly as with any washer, if its not leveled properly it will be noisy. The one we had at our shop you couldn’t tell it was in a high spin it was that quiet.

Like · Reply · Feb 16, 2016 10:39am

Artcurus Art ·

UTPB – The University of Texas of the Permian Basin

The cognitive dissonance involving HE washers is absolutely amazing. Low water levels, smelly clothes, mold, “eco friendly” or dumbed down hot water, extremely long wash times and frequent repairs. I really don’t get it. We also bought a Speed Queen when our 27 year old Maytag died and we absolutely love it. Don’t let the 3.3 tub size fool you, it will hold and effectively clean a surprising amount of clothes and the fast wash times will play in your favor, especially if you are a busy family.

Like · Reply · 17 · Sep 19, 2015 6:20am

Garrick Kwan ·

San Jose, California

Unfortunately, in California it is gradually becoming mandatory to have low water usage because we lived in a drought! Speed Queen is may be not permitted to claim the state rebate.

Like · Reply · Dec 14, 2015 9:12pm

Tim Mahoney ·

Owner at Retired

Interesting article. I’ve noticed that CR top rated units for a variety of appliances always seem to come with a whole lot of customer complaints about reliability. CR likes to praise bells and whistles on such units, but my experience suggests that simplicity and durability are more desirable in many appliances, whether washer/driers, stoves or refrigerators. Does it work? Does it work reliably? If it breaks, is the manufacturer ready/willing to provide quick, competent repairs? I have a top freezer refrigerator I bought at Price Club (the Costco predecessor) back in the 80s that stil…See More

Like · Reply · 21 · Sep 21, 2015 7:50am

RobandStephanie Roberts ·

Eastern Michigan University

Seven years ago, we purchased Speed Queen at the recommendation of our local retailer (Mark at Heydlauff’s in Chelsea, MI). We were looking for large capacity (for blankets, etc.) and a stainless steel tub (also, didn’t want the front load type. Keep it simple, less to go wrong) We are moving soon, need to leave the old units. Plan to purchase Speed Queen from Heydlauff’s again. They have been great for us!

Like · Reply · 9 · Sep 23, 2015 2:26pm · Edited

 

Kelly Robertson Notar

We’re in the Ann Arbor area too! Going to head to Heydlauff’s!

Like · Reply · 1 · Feb 11, 2016 7:57am

RobandStephanie Roberts ·

Eastern Michigan University

Debbie Collier Barstad I don’t find them to be noisy. The new models work great!. I have dust allergies and wash a lot if sheets, blankets, & rugs. Love the stainless steel tubs. I could go on….

Like · Reply · 1 · Feb 11, 2016 5:33pm

Show 3 more replies in this thread

Tracy Moss Stolarski ·

Community Volunteer at Augusta Area Charities

I had a Bosch pair for over 10 years. HATED them. Could not wait to replace them. Gave the Bosch away and bought the Speed Queen pair two years ago. I have the top load washer. Very little to break down. I am in love with it! So much so that I celebrate the anniversary of it’s purchase!!! It’s an old school type machine, like my parents had when I was growing up. Easy to use and works like a charm. I love the dryer too. I don’t understand how these machines didn’t top the CR list. I’ve never had a better pair. I wouldn’t have anything else now!!

Like · Reply · 8 · Sep 25, 2015 2:00pm

Peta Grimes ·

UC Berkeley

My 20 year-old washer was giving up the ghost, so I did a bunch of research to find a new one. CR does a lot of testing, but the criteria it uses to judge its Best buys are not the same as the ones I wanted. I am interested in 1) easy to maintain 2) does not break 3) cleans clothes. Features like using less water, extra cycles or fancy controls while nice to have are not what the purchase is about. After reading lots of comments, the Speed Queen was a standout in terms of user satisfaction, although it was not even mentioned by CR. Bought one. Love it.

Like · Reply · 16 · Sep 27, 2015 11:52am

Rick Khamsi ·

Eureka, California

My experience was the same as yours.

Like · Reply · 2 · Dec 18, 2015 4:54pm

Wesley Segade ·

Journeyman Wireman at IBEW

Two years ago I bought a Speed Queen top load washer, after having major problems with three washers over as many years I was fed up with the GE, Maytag and Kenmore HE. I decided to do some research and find out what was being used in Laundromat’s because I figured if they can survive that kind of abuse they must be a great product. I discovered Speed Queen on line and read the reviews “all good by the way “I found a dealer and bought the Washer. Have been using it for two years now and my wife and I love it. I had to go to the US to pick it up because they are not sold in Canada. But as far as I’m concerned it might be a little old fashioned but it is built like a tank and almost a heave as one! And as far as I’m concerned worth every dime I paid for it.

Like · Reply · 9 · Dec 5, 2015 10:08pm

Justin Power ·

Niagara College

I will definately consider this brand when my old machines decide to kick the bucket.

Like · Reply · 1 · Dec 22, 2015 1:05am

Philip Coler

Purchased Speed Queen front load last spring, no issues so far and it does a better job overall that the washer it replace. I have been nursing along a Whirlpool front load, and repaired it many times, I found the overall quality lacking, poor use of sensors that decreases reliability, outer drum is plastic, bearings will fail, no way to replace, must replace the entire outer drum. This is commonly value engineering, but it is not the same as quality, or reliability. I worked R&D in military for more than a few years, so I tend to be a little more critical.

Like · Reply · 1 · Jan 3, 2016 3:12pm

Lynda Lasseter ·

Retired – Work part time at Winslow Engineering Group

My Maytag Performa is getting off balanced, but can’t complain as it has lasted 12 years. I’m looking at buying a Speed Queen. Yes, it’s boring and basic to look at, but I want reliability, and simplicity. Not expensive mother boards, plastic, a bunch of lit up push buttons, or 14 different wash cycles that go awry. Just give me quick, easy, clean and reliable. No bells and whistles, or this better efficiency rating or that. If a washer has water levels, you can save on water with just that one feature. There are lots of bad reviews with the newer fandango washers including LG’s.

Like · Reply · 3 · Jan 7, 2016 1:05pm

 

Kristen Molen

I’ve owned two Speed Queen washers, both lasted over 10 years. I had maintenance issues with a timer on the second machine I owned. That was after 10 years of use so I’m not disappointed. The other one never needed maintenance. I also noticed these new washing machines (other brands) are taking much longer to clean the clothes. My Speed Queen takes 45 minutes. Pretty sure the cost of electricity should play into purchasing a machine that takes almost twice as long to clean as the Speed Queen. Most of the recommended machines are at minimum 70 minutes! The digital controls are hype if you ask me. It’s one more thing to go wrong with a machine. The manual dials are really all you need.

Like · Reply · 4 · Jan 11, 2016 4:05pm · Edited

Diana Weber ·

Wayne City High School

I agree. I have a Maytag HE w/o agitator. I disliked it from the get go. Our clothes do NOT smell clean, feel clean, or look clean after taking an hour to wash. So disappointed! Several women in our town feel the same and have changed to Speed Queen and are very pleased with them. Our mobile home that we lived in after marrying in 1977 had a Speed Queen stack washer & dryer. We loved it. So I’m researching more but feel that we are heading toward a new Speed Queen top load washer w/knob controls.

Like · Reply · 3 · Jan 14, 2016 6:41pm

Susan Norris Carter ·

Windermere, Florida

I’ve had HE washers (4 separate) for aboout 12 years. My latest is dying after about 4 years. I find that it doesn’t wash well. If I want to soak my laundry first, I then have to restart the cycle and cannot use the same water. Often, I have to rewash the clothes. That’s not saving water at all. Even more frustrating is when you go to pull your clothes out and find that they’re not even wet. I’ve had front loaders, top loaders and different brands. Give me the machine I used to have. My clothes got clean.

Like · Reply · 1 · Jan 13, 2016 8:14pm

Sandy Edelstein

My 6 yr old GE Profile HE Top Loading Washer is leaking water on the floor. Fixing it isn’t an option as the repair people are too expensive. I need to buy another washing machine and will go to Lowes and Fry’s tomorrow to check out what they have and recommend (even though I prefer to get honest information on-line). Sounds like Speed Queen is the best. I prefer a machine under $600. What do u recommend?

Like · Reply · Jan 20, 2016 9:03pm

James Johnson ·

Campus High School

gave 819.00 for my speedqueen washer worth every penny works great

Like · Reply · 1 · Feb 25, 2016 9:47pm

James Johnson ·

Campus High School

if you what less then 600.00 get one like you have now

Like · Reply · Feb 25, 2016 9:48pm

Anna Koutsantoni

I would very much like to see consumer reports tackle the white elephant in the room which for me is the true recomended loading capacity of reviewed washing machines. Take any of the big brands out there such as Samsung, LG, Whirlpool etc and you will find that when it comes to their home washing machines, for large items especially beddings, their recommended capacity is much lower to their advertised values. For example a 17.5lb machine can take only 4.5lb of beddings, even for a front loader with an advertsied capacity of 31lb the recomendation by the manufacturer is a megre 5.5lb of bedd…See More

Like · Reply · 2 · Feb 4, 2016 1:26am

Charles Barry ·

Actor at Linda McAlister Talent

I have had a kenmore Elite Calypso HE washer for 12 years. To get it to clean my whites, I used the heavy load with a second rinse and spin, and on top of that bleach and Oxiclean. It took 77 minutes to clean. The main panel was replaced twice and the machine was rebuilt 3 times! All paid, thank God, by American Homeshield Warranty. My out of pocket service calls over the years was $385. The machine broke down again 2 weeks ago and could not be repaired any longer. American Homeshield gave me an option of another new HE washer or money. I took the money. Based on the customer reviews of HE washers, I purchased a Speed Queen top loader for all of the reasons sited in this blog. I don’t think the manufacturers truly understand consumers. And if they loose a customer, it is their fault.

Like · Reply · 2 · Feb 6, 2016 7:51am

Charles Barry ·

Actor at Linda McAlister Talent

The above paragraph was written by my wife. She doesn’t want her own face book account. That sai, we received the Speed Queen 1 week ago. We leveled it and installed it ourselves. It’s s champ. No rocking and rolling. Not any louder than the previous Whirlpool. Cleans great, although for whites she still says she needs bleach and oxiclean on the longest cycle.

Like · Reply · Feb 28, 2016 1:18pm

Linda Luken Finke ·

Thomas More College

Five years ago I bought a HE washing machine. I hate it. You cannot get extra water into the washing machine when you need it. The clothes do not get clean. I always get the extra warrenty–(people say not to get them, but they have been good to me)– and so with two months left –the ball barings went bad. So it will get fixed. However my next washing machine will definetly be a Speed Queen!

Like · Reply · Feb 25, 2016 12:07pm

Linda Luken Finke ·

Thomas More College

My extra warrenty pays off again!

Like · Reply · Feb 25, 2016 12:08pm

Hunt Gerber ·

University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

After reading dozens of positive comments about Speed Queen washers by satisfied users, and noticing that Consumer Reports appears to be engaging in environmental activism rather than objectively reviewing products for consumers, I went ahead and purchased a Speed Queen washer last year rather than the HE washer I had originally planned to. We have been extremely happy. It is quiet, reliable, efficient and gets our clothes clean the first time. I have never had a problem with the load capacity. I vastly prefer its uncomplicated mechanical controls over the unnecessarily elaborate and unr…See More

Like · Reply · 4 · Mar 2, 2016 11:41pm · Edited

Deanna Porter Gnadt ·

Gilbert, Arizona

We have had our top-of-the-line washer four days. Two calls to the installer to clean the stainless tub, 2+ hours of me scrubbing it, and my husband trying to clean it with Barkeepers Friend, and it finally seemed to wipe clean with a paper towel. My FIRST load of whites, after several loads of dark, came out gray. Don’t know if it can wash clothes or not. Their QC on the tubs failed us!

Like · Reply · Mar 12, 2016 5:08pm

Pam Yasinski ·

Farmersville, Illinois

We purchased an HE washer two years ago. I HATE it! It worked the first year then the issues started. We went to Lowes where we purchased the washer and all they had to offer was more of the same. We then went to a local store who has been selling appliances only for over 30 years and they showed us the Speed Queen washer & dryer. They were exacty what we were looking for!! The set will be delivered and installed tomorow. Happy Days!!!!

Like · Reply · 1 · Mar 13, 2016 5:49am

 

Leave a Reply

